Effectiveness of development and psychology degree

Home Forums General Effectiveness of development and psychology degree

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Haymond

I’m think­ing about becom­ing a develop worker. Mainly because of my desire to try and con­tribute to end­ing poverty. But how much of this job really tackle this prob­lem? Also I’m doing a degree in psy­chol­ogy, is this rel­e­vant in becom­ing a devel­op­ment worker? Will i need to do a mas­ter in inter­na­tional development?

Ben C
    Keymaster

Devel­op­ment work can be frus­trat­ing, but it can also be very reward­ing. There are jobs that take you to the fore­front of prob­lems – where you are faced with real poverty, and on the other end of the spec­trum are jobs with donors, where you will often only deal with rel­a­tively rich gov­ern­ments, orga­ni­za­tions and other donors.

Psy­chol­ogy does not strike me as some­thing par­tic­u­larly suited to a career in devel­op­ment, but any degree (espe­cially social sci­ence) is use­ful, and wouldn’t pre­clude you.

You cer­tainly don’t need to do a mas­ters to enter inter­na­tional devel­op­ment, but there are some jobs that may be off-limits if you don’t have one. As with a lot of careers, some choose to take mas­ters degrees later.

Hope this helps and good luck in your decisions.

Haymond

Thank you for your reply, it has been help­ful. How­ever i do have some more ques­tions. What are these jobs that take you to the fore­front of real poverty? And any advice into get­ting these kind of jobs?

Thanks,
    Haymond

Ben C
    Keymaster

I’m talk­ing about devel­op­ment jobs focus­ing on grass­roots issues. Most often this is an area NGOs con­cen­trate on.